Driver’s Education Course Information

During the state of emergency and coronavirus pandemic, MASSDOT RMV has given certified Massachusetts driving schools permission to deliver the classroom portion of the driver’s education program using remote learning, web based tools.

All in-person classroom attendance will be capped at a maximum capacity of 24 students

REQUIREMENTS TO ATTEND THE CLASSROOM PORTION OF THE DRIVER’S EDUCATION PROGRAM:

1. STUDENT MUST BE 15 YEARS AND 9 MONTHS OLD, MINIMUM.
2. NO PERMIT NEEDED FOR CLASSROOM ATTENDANCE.

ROAD LESSON SERVICE AREA

Our service area extends 5 miles from our main location at 7 Eustis St., Saugus, MA.  If you purchase Ringer’s  complete driver’s education program, we will pick up and drop off for behind-the-wheel driving lessons. If you live outside of our geographical service area, you may still do driving lessons with our instructors, if you agree to be picked up and dropped off inside our service area. If you have questions, please phone the office before making your purchase (781) 233-3664.

** Ringer’s has a good reputation for driving lesson availability. If a JOL wishes to transfer to Ringer’s for 12 driving lesson/ 6 hrs. observation only, the fee is $700. Please phone the office to inquire. 781-233-3664

CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION

The RMV has given MA driving schools permission to administer the final exam to attendees of the online course online as well.  The final exam is required for course completion. If you have a school IEP and wish to inquire about accomodations, please phone the office (781) 233-3664 or text the company cell (781) 231-0337.

Don’t be fooled by national companies offering “Massachusetts” driver’s education online. Only students taking online driver’s education from MASSACHUSETTS brick and mortar DRIVING SCHOOLS CERTIFIED BY MASSDOT will be deemed eligible to take a road test in Massachusetts before their 18th birthday.

Classroom instruction covers safe driving, basic driving skills, rules of the road and Massachusetts driving laws.

Ringer’s Auto School is going above and beyond to develop an online driver’s education course that will be engaging. Students will be required to log in during live simulcasts for 30 hours of classroom instruction, 10 weekdays in a row, 12 noon to 3pm.

  • To Log In: We will send a link and password to all registered students no later than the day before class starts.

In order to earn the Driver Education Certificate required to be eligible to schedule a driver’s license road test, the driver’s education program must be completed, including the classroom portion, 12 hours of road instruction and 6 hours of observation.  Quizzes will be given for each chapter so students can track their progress and prepare for the final exam. All missed classroom time must be made up. Upon completion of all required training, Ringer’s Auto School will electronically file your Driver’s Education Certificate with the Massachusetts Department of Transportation Registry of Motor Vehicles.

After the student obtains a Massachusetts learner’s permit from the RMV, three requirements must be met before scheduling behind-the-wheel driving lessons. 1) The classroom portion of the program must be completed. 2) A parent must attend a parent class.  3) The balance of Ringer’s driver’s education program fee must be paid in full (during the state of emergency and coronavirus pandemic, Ringer’s will offer a flexible payment plan).

Classroom instruction covers safe driving, basic driving skills, rules of the road and Massachusetts driving laws.

Driver’s License Eligibility Requirements

  1. Age: You must have a valid learner’s permit for 6 consecutive months before you can take the road test to get your license. Minimum age requirement is 16 1/2 years old. If you obtain your learner’s permit on your 16th birthday, and hold it in good standing for 180 days, you will be eligible by age.
  2. Driver’s Education: Complete a Registrar-approved driver’s education course, such as Ringer’s Auto School. Once you successfully complete the  program, your certificate of completion will appear on file in the registry database.

Parents’ Responsibility

  1. Parent Class: Parents are required to attend a 2-hour parent class with a Registrar-approved driving school. Ringer’s Auto School offers a 2-hour parent class  in conjunction with each new class series.
  2. Supervised Practice: Parents are responsible to supervise their student’s driving for a minimum of 40 hours. As a part of the student’s driver’s license application, a parent or guardian must sign to certify that the student’s driving has been supervised by a parent or guardian for 40 hours.